I panicked when my right eyelid twitched again early this morning. I thought that this twitching which started yesterday morning, will just resolve spontaneously after a restful night sleep. But it did not. The eyelid twitched immediately after I first opened my eyes, even before my soggy brain recalled that I had a rather unproductive day yesterday because of the twitching.

So, I opened my computer (before breakfast) and searched in the web for the cause and treatment of this highly irritating muscular spasm. And as expected, I found several enlightening information about eye twitching.

According to one article, eyelid twitch is common and is of no concern (ok, no cause for panic). Minor eyelid twitches require no treatment as they usually resolve spontaneously (but it started twitching yesterday). Reducing stress, using warm soaks, or correction of any refractive error may help. Some ophthalmologists recommend reducing caffeine usage (this is easy because I rarely drink coffee).

Another article states that the most common cause of eyelid twitch is fatigue:

And fatigue goes hand in hand with stress. When the muscles that surround your eyes twitch and flutter, chances are very good that you are fatigued and stressed. So the remedy for a twitching eye is rest and relaxation. Not muscle relaxants, not pain killers, not chiropractic adjustments.Rest and relaxation. Period.

Cause: Stress. Treatment: R&R. Ok, noted. But this quite weird because this twitching happened now… now when I’m still on my summer vacation (today may be the last day but it is still a vacation). This never happened during the hell month of March! Come to think of it, I have a month-long R&R.

Yikes! How much more R&R do I need to stop this fasciculation?

****

TRIVIA: The medical term for eyelid twitch is myokymia. The eyelid muscle that is now in the limelight is called orbicularis oculi muscle. This muscle will twitch or flutter if the temporal branch of the facial nerve becomes fatigued. Twitching eye muscles are referred to as fasciculations.

****

I also stumbled upon an article regarding prolonged myokymia a.k.a eyelid twitch:

It (eyelid twitch) is often caused by tiredness and lack of sleep and goes away as mysteriously as it comes. However, sometimes it can be abnormally persistent and extremely rarely it may be associated with more serious nervous conditions such as multiple sclerosis, although I would emphasise this is highly unusual.

Since you have had your twitching eye for months, you might like to know that botulinum toxin is often very successful in treating this condition. This is the same botulinum toxin that is used cosmetically to remove frown lines in people who have developed furrows in their forehead over the years.

Lack of sleep? I bet my housemates will find this funny. But what in the world is multiple sclerosis? This sounds serious. (I have to check this out later.)

Botulinum toxin is also known as BOTOX. It is administered to the nerve that supplies the eye muscle to prevent the muscle from contracting. I hope that this twitch will just go away because I don’t like needles. Having one of my bicuspids removed by the dentist was scary enough. Ughh… Botox injections can be painful, expensive and offers only temporary relief.

***

I found another Q&A site about eyelid twitch.

Q. Your eye test and recommendations do not seem to take into account the use of a lap top. If I follow your advice for distance from my screen and height of the screen using the keyboard would be very uncomfortable. Are there any special recommendations for laptop and notebook users?
A. You have identified a shortcoming of laptops. There is no way to have both the screen and the keyboard optimally located. I do not recommend a laptop for extended work. If you intend to use it as such, I recommend obtaining a separate monitor for work at your desk.

I have been spending considerable time in front of the computer these days. With this article, I guess I have to turn off my laptop for now and allow my eyes to rest; eat breakfast, pop a Vitamin B complex tablet, soak some teabags and use them as hot packs. Relax. And perhaps some catnaps.

****

I will just set aside my class preps for next week (and blogging!). Que sera sera. For now, my orbicularis oculi muscle and facial nerves need all my sympathy and TLC.

