I clearly remember KB’s drawing mania in college: him hunched in some corner of our tambayan during his free time, drawing manga-caricatures of our barkada in the org’s logbook using his trademark blue colored pencil. Methinks it was his excuse to make a serious study of Rach’s face (hehehe); they were a-courting then and KB, like any besotted buck who knows how to draw, likes to sketch his loveydovey’s visage. In his attempt to mask his drawing obsession, he went on to draw the caricatures of the rest of the gang; namely irene, net, ge, mitzi (?) and yours truly. (KB, wag kang mag-denial king dyan!)

In fairness, KB is one talented person. He made excellent manga-style caricatures of irene, rach, ge and, oh yes, net who looks like a walking-talking anime anyway then (peace!). I can’t remember mitzi’s caricature though. Anyways as you have noticed, I did not include my name in the list of KB’s drawing achievements. That is because he could not manage to create a decent manga-style caricature of yours truly, the resident bunny a.k.a sailormoon of the tambayan. In fairness again, KB did try. Again and again. But in the end, we just sort of concluded that I’m not a manga material.

* * * * *

This trip to memory lane was brought about by the latest craze in avatars – the mangatars. Manga plus avatar (ow, a fusion of Sanskrit and Nihonggo terms, how sweet!). Inspired by musified macho’s cute mangatar, I took up the challenge of creating my very own. I made two last night.

liguified's mangatar

I can’t find matching eye and hair features for my mangatar. The options are generally few; there are no options for eyebags, dark eye circles and dental braces (I was sorely tempted to twick my mangatar in adobe photoshop!). Anyways, what do you think? Still not a manga material? Or should I just stick to realism?

Create your own mangatar at www.faceyourmangatar.com. Have fun!

